Julianne’s Blog

this is my blog. this is the only blog there will be.

in france 12 January 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Julianne Dodds @ 5:51 PM
Tags:

It’s hard to type on a french keyboard… Also, there is finally a Flickr update.

 

So I am in a village called Savins, 1 hr south of Paris. The couple who owns this house is french, but the lady speaks English and Japanese perfectly. There is also a Japanese girl here who loves to bake, so I am well supplied with gateaux, no one worry. This afternoon we fetched wood for the fire, which heats the whole house. I have my own little room in the attic. After hostels, the privacy is wonderful!

 

So what am I doing here? Well, I am helping put together an exhibit of art nouveau. Antoinette wants me to create an art nouveau tour of Paris for here. And I will help to sell stuff on ebay. How cultural, right? Really, I don’t know why I’m here; it’s been 2 weeks and I haven’t figured it out at all. Any ideas anyone?

 

5 Responses to “in france”

  1. mom Says:

    Art nouveau and ebay are your 2 specialites. And a room of your own! Ooh la la. What about bathroom? This girl from Japan, does she speak English? So wiil you roam around Paris taking pictures and writing blurbs for Antoinette? THAT sounds like fun. Love the pictures!

  2. al Says:

    Thanks for the great pictures. I told some of my friends on Trip Advisor about you…don’t be surprised if you get a note or two!

    Have fun, sweetie…..dad

  3. bdodds Says:

    Sounds like you are getting a hold of it all. Never doubted your ability. Looking forward to more news about the farm.

    I am having cataract surgery on Jan 26 and Feb 18. Rather routine for people my age. Same doctor that did Grandad’s.

    Love you much. Enjoy the adventure.

    Grandma

  4. Mel Says:

    If you recall, I believe that many of your fellow family members asked why you were going and what you were going to do. You didn’t have a great answer then, either. I pretty much figured that you were going to do all the tourist-y stuff and also all the stuff that the locals do. Do it now before you have to get “a real job” and responsibilities and such. Do you like it in France? The art scence is surely bigger there than here.

    Ed & I hope to take the boys over to Europe for a few weeks in the summer once they get older. Probably a few summers, so we can do Italy in one trip, and Great Britain the next. Live it up in Italy for me when you get there!

  5. Julianne Dodds Says:

    Yeah, do you mean you are going to stay in Epcot for your next trip to Disneyworld or are you guys actually going to go visit Eurodisney?


Leave a Reply

