Julianne’s Blog

this is my blog. this is the only blog there will be.

Polska Kielbasa is my favorite sausage. 5 May 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Julianne Dodds @ 7:29 PM
Tags: , , , ,

Last night, on somewhat short notice, I got on the night train from Prague to Krakow. Just like when I went to Germany, I was able to have a compartment all to myself. I was really excited about finally heading east, into the unknown, and as the train pulled out of the station I closed th hall curtains, opened my window, and cranked up the iPod. Creedenc, the Allman Brothers, and Neil Young was a perfect combination, perfect for the landscape, and the moon was bright, and I sang out the open window to the passing Czech towns.

My hostel in Krakow is another gem! Also super cheap–40 zloty is less that $13 a night! It is right on the Kosciol Mariacki, which is the largest medieval square in Europe. Also in the square is the Cloth Hall, which is filled with stalls selling tacky Polish suvenirs, and of course I love that. I walked around the Jewish Quarter this afternoon, or what used to be the Jewish Quarter. There aren’t any more Jews in that ghetto, or really anywhere else in Poland. I just read Maus, and in a couple days I’m going to go over to Auschwitz, so it’s going to be pretty heavy. Until then, my knee still hurts and I’m thinking about getting a massage, because I need to walk! Also, I am terribly frustrated by the lack of suitable underwear in this city–I need new drawers!

So I’m just relaxing for a bit, then I will head to the restaurant downstairs for some dumplings and to taste some Polish flavored vodka. Oh yeah, it’s going to be a long night.

 

One Response to “Polska Kielbasa is my favorite sausage.”

  1. Marcia Says:

    Dear Juli,
    I love reading about your travels – I told your mom I’d like to be doing the same thing myself, but it’s much easier to just check out your blog, which is excellent. Your photos are great, too – with entertaining comments.
    Were you able to get in touch with Brigitte? She said you’d be welcome to visit her in Switzerland. (If not this trip, perhaps another time.)
    Take care, keep having fun, and come see me in NY when you’re back in les etats-unis.
    Love,
    Marcia


Leave a Reply

