Julianne’s Blog

this is my blog. this is the only blog there will be.

Flowing along with the bayou 27 July 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Julianne Dodds @ 1:16 PM
Tags: , ,

I’d been very worried that when I returned to NOLA and my friends that we would find we no longer had much in common. Luckily that’s not at all the case. In every situation I’ve been able to pick up exactly where I left off. Our lives have changed in the 7 months that I was away, but we are all still the same people and so we are still the same friends.

The past 8 months of my life have largely been about serendipity. It’s about observing and allowing things to happen, surrendering to life, really going with the flow. Realizing that no plan will ever last or actually make me happy. I’ve had so many adventures by following that mindset, some of the wonderful, some of them not so great. Alright, some of them were down-right crappy. But I did get to meet Rick Steves…

In the spirit of serendipity, my plans have changed once again. I wasn’t planning on getting an apartment, but a wonderful opportunity came up. I’m living in 854 Wilson now, just two houses down from where I’d been living since Hurricane Katrina, and where my sister lives now. I’d hoped to be able to move back into the area, but to be so close to that place and people I love is right up there with Rick Steves (maybe I can get him to visit…)

I’m still not sure how this changes the rest of my plans. Mainly, does Burning Man fit into this new direction? I’ve been questioning my motives for attending for some time now. If I were to go, it would be under different circumstances. I’d no longer be open for anything (West Coast road trip for example) but have a place waiting for me to return to. It’s very much up in the air.

I’m so excited about having a home again. I’m excited as I always am to be stepping off onto a new, unexpected path. I’m excited about living alone and seeing how my lessons from traveling will continue to manifest themselves. But more than any excitement, I’m grateful to have such a wonderful home and a reason to be somewhere. I’m grateful to be back in my city where I am surrounded by old friends while at the same time continously discovering new people, where you don’t have to be moving yourself to be a part of something. New Orleans has welcomed me home in a way I’d never expected, yet doesn’t surprise me. I don’t even mind the heat.

 

2 Responses to “Flowing along with the bayou”

  1. Al Dodds Says:

    You know what John Lennon said about life. I’m glad you’re enjoying and appreciating what you have. I miss you lots!

  2. bdodds Says:

    Know you will enjoy Emily and Aliah being so close. When are you going to Ohio to get your “things”. We always hope we get a surprise visit. Love you so much.
    Grandma


Leave a Reply

